June 12, 2011

How to be a champion in chess and life

Do you ever get that feeling deep down that you should be able to accomplish much more than you are at present? 

1. Turn your ability into achievement:

Discipline is what turns your ability into achievement. Without it, your goals will always be daydreams at best. Working out two days last week, five days this week, and three days next week will prevent you from ever reaching your podium.
What is missing or what are you tolerating in your life that is preventing you from establishing discipline? 

Gold Medal Tip: Grandmasters are made daily, not in a day.

2. Don't let your competition define who you are:

Does this scenario sound familiar? You are right in the middle of your chess club and feeling great, but than you start looking across the room and see your nemesis, the individual who has everything you are trying to attain. Maybe you want his intuition, creativity or his flawless repertoire, which reminds you of Kasparov. Too often we are guilty of comparing ourselves to our team mates, a training partner, or another individual that we don't even know. If you want to win your game, you first have to win your inner game. The competition is not you versus them. It is about you versus you.

Gold Medal Tip: Only focus on what you can control…YOU!

3. Monitor Your Training:

Just because you are active does not mean that you are actually accomplishing anything. In fact, this approach actually could be detrimental to your body and brain. How many people do you know work on chess four or five days a week but do not actually have a goal in mind? Better yet, if you were to ask them what they did two weeks ago they probably could not tell you. Many Grandmasters would be able to tell you exactly what they were working before, where they still have problems or what they will do in the upcoming days. Another key point is to find the balance between quantity and quality. Many times is better to work just 3 hours a day, but to be completely focused, than to have the chess board in front of your eyes for 8 hours and let your mind wandering around.

Gold Medal Tip: You might be interested in reading the article on the goal setting.


19 comments:

  1. Congratulations Alina, a ver nice website, neat design and great material to study and amuse. Very nice!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. AFFORDABLE LOAN OFFER

      Are you financially down? Do you need a loan to start up business of pay off bills? we offer all kinds of financial assistance to every individuals "Business loan and personal loan, for investment, debt consolidation and house purchase etc." we will be willing to offer you the loan. Offer is affordable at an interest rate of 2%;this Funding program allows our client to enjoy low interest payback for as low as 2% per annul for a period of 2 months - 50 years. We can approve a loan/funding for a minimum of 5,000.00 up to 20,000,000.00 depending on the nature of business. but before we can proceed with the loan,if interested contact us now : { jonesloanfinance@yahoo.com}

      Delete
  2. I enjoyed the article - good advice for undertaking any sustained endeavor and hoping to improve one's performance. I also enjoyed those photographs from top players' younger days! Oh my!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Certainly, women of all ages connected with nearly all a long time would prefer to unique in addition to posses several custom made shopping bags since they can certainly, dior replica which often besides meets the costume but meets the way of living. Just about every person adores to help populate the clothing collection having unique kinds of shopping bags, though developing an upmarket assortment intended for unique functions. Intended for like women of all ages who definitely are shopping to create a variety at your home can certainly want to acquire these individuals by internet retailers. replica dior bags When you seek online, you can certainly uncover a number of reputable internet retailers of which advertise marked down in addition to low cost shopping bags. fake chanel This lets people match ones dreams connected with proudly owning most current gadgets devoid of getting rid of some sort of ditch with your jean pocket. chanel replica Anybody can simply decide upon this wide selection with present in addition to area a obtain on the net to discover the acquire supplied on doorway. cartier replica sale Even so, it is suggested to order by solely reputable in addition to visible internet retailers that gives the modern collection of shopping bags. Likewise, remember to look at purchaser opinions previous to generating a acquire.

    ReplyDelete


  4. Comments on this blog are restricted to team members.

    ReplyDelete
  5. {fffwww}



    [url=http://www.fffff2233.com/]fffwww[/url]



    www.fffff2233.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. AFFORDABLE LOAN OFFER

    Are you financially down? Do you need a loan to start up business of pay off bills? we offer all kinds of financial assistance to every individuals "Business loan and personal loan, for investment, debt consolidation and house purchase etc." we will be willing to offer you the loan. Offer is affordable at an interest rate of 2%;this Funding program allows our client to enjoy low interest payback for as low as 2% per annul for a period of 2 months - 50 years. We can approve a loan/funding for a minimum of 5,000.00 up to 20,000,000.00 depending on the nature of business. but before we can proceed with the loan,if interested contact us now : { jonesloanfinance@yahoo.com}

    ReplyDelete
  7. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete