November 28, 2011

Bobby Fischer against the world

I don't know how come I 'succeeded' to see the absolutely wonderful HBO documentary on Bobby Fischer's life only a while ago. I should have watched it immediately when it appeared on the market. Anyway, later is better than never and I strongly recommend it!

"Bobby Fischer Against the World (2011) is mainly about the psychology of a troubled mind. But it's also a sweet little slice of history. It touches on the Cold War rivalry between the Soviets and America, where America's David takes on the Soviet Goliath in the storied 1972 Reykjavík match between Fischer and Boris Spassky." 
Do crazy men play chess, or does chess make men crazy? 





"Chess is for crazy people"- makes sense, says Maxime Vachier Lagrave in a previous New In Chess; as interesting as it might sound, this is not the reality. I assume that when Maxime is saying this, he's giving the term 'crazy' a positive connotation. But the result instead, might be exactly the opposite. Words have a stronger suggesting power when written. Undressed of any other nuances, which are usually added by the voice tone, gestures, eyes,  they deliver the pure essence of what that particular word means. To be honest, I can say that I am guilty myself a bit, to send the same message of a 'special' person. To be a chess player, an artist, nobody understanding completely your fascinating inner side – that's by far more interesting than conformism.


I don't know if we can thank Freud for the notion that neurosis is helpful to a chess player, for more beautiful games, but that notion does not accord with my own experiences. Freud was wrong. Success in chess is directly proportional with sanity. The best and most successful players are some of the sanest people you'll ever meet.
In other professions, because there are set rules of workplace conduct, many dysfunctional people can get by. In chess, with all the freedom, a lack of sane, self discipline, is particularly destructive.


About the exceptions, take a Fischer for example: 'craziness' can also manifest itself as charisma, which is helpful to one's success.
I guess my personal opinion is: thank goodness for those who don't quite fit in with social norms, who may have trouble marketing themselves, who may be interpersonally difficult. They provide variety and interest in my life and often make such an interesting work!

20 comments:

  1. I want to see it as well, it looks very interesting!
    Jonathan

    ReplyDelete
  2. The only real that produces these different will be their particular combine coordintaing with with the vintage halloween costume making use of parts as well as the modern day stylish. fake hublot Consequently search for the particular antique clothes the superstar provides donned and also from then on suit that the great parts and commence to get being a celeb. replica hublot Superstar attire from suppliers is very useful strategy to supply satisfaction toward many's come across. replica prada Every person really wants to seem stylish and also stylish inside the latest moment. hublot replica Folks choose to use stylish garments, stylish shoes or boots, and also printed components so that you can boost their particular persona. fake rolex uk Currently, several types of stylish and also elegant components are usually you can purchase in which boost the seems and also persona at the same time.

    ReplyDelete
  3. vcheap snapbacks, http://www.cheapsnapbacks.us.com/
    michael kors handbags, http://www.michaelkorshandbagsoutletstore.us.com/
    oakley sunglasses, http://www.oakley.in.net/
    roshe run, http://www.rosherunshoessale.com/
    lululemon outlet, http://www.lululemonoutletstore.in.net/
    ugg boots, http://www.uggbootscheap.eu.com/
    ray ban sunglasses, http://www.rayban-sunglassess.us.com/
    ray ban sunglasses, http://www.raybansunglass.com.au/
    mcm outlet, http://www.mcm.in.net/
    ugg outlet, http://www.uggsoutlet.us.org/
    ugg outlet, http://www.uggboots-outlet.co.uk/
    michael kors bags, http://www.michaelkorsbags.uk/
    michael kors outlet, http://www.michaelkorsoutletcanada.in.net/
    canada goose jackets, http://www.uggbootscheap.eu.com/
    barbour coats, http://www.canadagoosecanada.com/
    karen millen dresses, http://www.karenmillendressesoutlets.co.uk/
    the north face jackets, http://www.thenorthfacejacket.us.com/
    links of london, http://www.linksoflondons.co.uk/
    jordan shoes, http://www.jordanshoes.us.com/
    mulberry outlet, http://www.mulberryoutlet.com.co/
    lacoste polo shirts, http://www.lacostepoloshirts.cc/
    canada goose outlet, http://www.canada-gooseoutlet.us.com/
    canada goose coats, http://www.canadagoose-coats.us.com/
    north face outlet, http://www.thenorthface.me/
    canada goose outlet, http://www.canadagooseoutlet.com.co/

    ReplyDelete
  4. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. A distance condition in a home loan contract gives the moneylender certain expressed rights when there is a move of possession in the property. It might likewise be alluded to as a due at a bargain proviso. cash advance

    ReplyDelete