February 14, 2012

Happy Chess Velentine!

From the National Championship, in between today's preparation and a walk outside, confronting the winter's wrath, I wish you all a great day!
We are celebrating it by playing chess, what else?! If you have never thought that chess and romance could go together, take a look at the card underneath, from the 20th century, maybe it will change your mind:)







Here you have the full text:


The Chess-Board by Edward Robert Bulwer-Lytton



My little love, do you remember,
Ere we were grown so sadly wise,
Those evenings in the bleak December,
Curtained warm from the snowy weather,
When you and I played chess together.
Checkmated by each other's eyes?


Ah! still I see your soft white hand
Hovering warm o'er Queen or Knight;
Brave Pawns in valient battle stand;
The double Castles guard the wings;
The Bishop, bent on distant things,
Moves, sliding, through the fight.


Our fingers touch; our glances meet,
And falter; falls your golden hair
Against my cheek; your bosom sweet
Is heaving. Down the field, your Queen
Rides slow, her soldiery all between,
And checks me unaware.


Ah me! the little battle's done:
Dispersed is all its chivalry.
Full many a move, since then, have we 
'Mid Life's perplexing chequers made,
And many a game with Fortune played;--
What is it we have won?
This, this at least,--if this alone:


That never, never, never more,
As in those old still nights of yore
(Ere we were grown so sadly wise),
Can you and I shut out the skies,
Shut out the world and wintry weather,
And, eyes exchanging warmth with eyes,
Play chess, as then we played together! 

32 comments:

  1. Has rhythm of Raven by Edgar Allen Poe :)
    Happy Valentine!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Beautiful poem, Allina! I admire your wide sense and interest for literature and poetry. And of course your creativity which you exhibit in colorful images published on Chessbase, together with a vibrant description. The tournament in Romania becomes so vivid to the reader – keep it up Alina, well done :-))))

    Christian

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks Christian! Three more rounds to go...

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yeah. It was all real. People rolex replica always ask me rolex submariner replica if they fake tears. I known to be a good crier and in this role you louis vuitton outlet sort of had to be. Mara was just so tortured. It called for it.

    ReplyDelete
  5. cheap ray ban sunglasses australia To cheap ray ban sunglasses online me that is really expensive movie tickets, sixty dollars a, bank robbery ah, I have to buy a lot of packages Sanjiang. Determined cheap ray bans australia store to want to express yourself cheap ray ban sunglasses australia cursed for her dissatisfaction, but it wants to act in public ratio, cheap ray ban sunglasses australia so shameful sale began hypocritical. cheap said Miss freezing rain not only sing well, the cheap ray ban sunglasses play was also stick.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for all your information, Website is very nice and informative content.
    ---
    play game jogos de friv online and play game jogos friv | jogos do friv

    ReplyDelete
  7. Achat de casquettes New Era cheap very casquette baseball pas cher afraid of ghosts afraid of death, because he never seen a Achat de casquettes New Era ghost, for this unknown thing born with a sense of fear. Achat de casquettes New Era Open your eyes and do not see eye Maoxue legend, his face blackened evil, see only the very familiar faces. Achat de casquettes New Era He almost did not nike air max 2015 pas cher change, is still askew benignant face. What are you afraid of.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I do think that is amongst the most interesting articles or blog posts I’ve stay with me that topic. You have made your current factors exciting, unique as well as I accept nearly all. My business is delighted I discovered your current article these days.
    happy wheels
    super mario bros
    pacman
    agario

    ReplyDelete
  9. Welcomes to google terminal keep sharing such ideas in the future as well.
    google snake this was actually EARN TO DIE
    what i was looking for,and i am glad to came here! AGE OF WAR 2
    Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for a while HAPPY WHEELS
    I want you to thank for your time of this wonderful read!!! Slitherio
    Amazing insight you have on this, Slither io This article always blew me BIG FARM

    ReplyDelete
  10. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete